Personal injury protection, known commonly as “PIP,” is a type of insurance coverage that helps pay for medical costs and wage losses related to an injury suffered in an automobile accident. If you browse our website’s FAQ page, you’ll notice more information on this topic – and reasons why you should also consider purchasing additional forms of coverage.
Personal injury protection in Florida covers the costs of lost wages, medical bills and funeral costs in the wake of a serious accident. Florida law requires that every motor vehicle policy includes personal injury protection coverage.
Florida is a state that that requires personal injury protection coverage. This requirement is important because it ensures your ability to pay for initial medical care and provides reimbursement of wage loss if you are injured in a motor vehicle accident, regardless of which driver is at fault for the collision.
Automobile insurance policies are required to provide at least $10,000 of personal injury protection coverage. You should consider purchasing additional coverages – for example, Med Pay and Extended PIP coverages – that will provide you and your family additional medical care expense protection.
Personal injury protection is sometimes referred to as “no-fault” insurance because, regardless of who was at fault for an accident, this coverage will help pay for your medical care costs and lost wages that come with your inability to work. With regard to personal injury protection in Florida, all registered drivers are required by law to have a policy that includes a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance when behind the wheel.
Personal injury protection coverage is not the same as bodily injury (BI) insurance. Personal injury protection coverage pays for your medical care and wage losses, whereas BI coverage pays for damages and injuries suffered by another person if you are at fault for the accident. That’s the distinct difference between these two forms of coverage.
Our firm always recommends that you carry the greatest protection possible to bring you peace of mind and confidence when operating a motor vehicle. And, if you’ve been injured in an accident, we’re always ready to hear your story and advocate for your best interests.
You’re likely wondering who is eligible to receive the benefits that come from personal injury protection in Florida. If you’re injured in an accident, the policy will kick in for you, your relatives living in your home and, in some instances, nonrelative passengers in your vehicle – regardless of who was ultimately at fault. Personal injury protection in Florida can then be utilized to pay for medical expenses, lost wages and even transportation to and from your doctor appointments.
It’s one of the few types of insurance that doesn’t require proof of who was at fault in order to receive benefits. The average cost for personal injury protection varies. However, on average, the premium’s cost for this coverage is roughly $100 per month.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance is Paramount
As Personal Injury Lawyers, Our Priority is Always You
Personal Attention from Personal Injury Attorneys Near You
Expertise on an array of Personal Injury Examples
Local Experts Who Know the Intricacies of Personal Injury Law
Hire an Expert in Personal Injury Lawsuits in Florida
Your Experts in Personal Injury Tort
Key Details About Personal Injury Damages
All injury cases are handled on a contingency fee basis, which means you pay no lawyer fee for our representation until you receive compensation for your injuries and damages.
Contact us at 941.365.7600 for a free personal consultation.